Department of Otolaryngology Celebrates 2017 Otolaryngology Residency Program Graduation and Rhinology Fellowship Graduation

Jun 29, 2017
Department of Otolaryngology Celebrates 2017 Otolaryngology Residency Program Graduation and Rhinology Fellowship Graduation

On June 10, 2017 the inaugural Otolaryngology residency program and the rhinology fellowship graduation ceremony took place at the Westin La Paloma Resort. Dr. Erynne Faucett received her certificate as the first graduate from the University of Arizona, Department of Otolaryngology Residency Program and Dr. Saurabh Sharma received his rhinology fellowship certificate.

The ceremony commenced with a research symposium that provided a venue for the 3 senior otolaryngology residents; Erynne Faucett, MD, Saranya Reghunathan, MD and Jonnae Barry, MD to showcase their ongoing research projects. Eugene Chang, MD and Amanda Jenkins, MA of the Chang lab, also presented their sinusitis related research projects. Distinguished Speaker, Marci Lesperance, MD, Professor, Otolaryngology from the University of Michigan also presented at the symposium.

The otolaryngology residency program at the University of Arizona received initial accreditation from the ACGME in 2013.  The milestone inaugural residency graduation ceremony included remarks by Steven Wang, MD, Professor and Chair, Otolaryngology, Audrey Erman, MD, Residency Program Director and Alexander Chiu, MD, founding chair of the department and currently the chair of Otolaryngology at KUMC.

The following awards were presented during the ceremony:

Affiliated Clinical Faculty Teaching Award: Presented to an affiliated faculty member within the Tucson community. The 2016 – 2017 awardee was Dr. Robert Cravens, of Tucson Ear, Nose & Throat.

Clinical Faculty Teaching Award: Established to honor a faculty member who offered excellence in teaching the principles and practice of Otolaryngology. The 2016 – 2017 awardee was Dr. Stephen Goldstein, Associate Professor, Otolaryngology.

Maureen Hannley Research Teaching Award: The Maureen Hannley Research Teaching Award was established to honor Dr. Hannley’s contributions to the UA Department of Otolaryngology. Dr. Hannley was a dedicated advisor and mentor to the UA Otolaryngology residents and assisted them with all of their research related endeavors. The 2016 – 2017 awardee was Dr. Eugene Chang, Associate Professor, Otolaryngology.

Outstanding Research Presentation Award: The 2016 – 2017 awardee was Amanda Jenkins, MS for her presentation entitled “Genome – Virome Interactions in Chronic Rhinosinusitis” as the best presentation given at the research symposium.

Dr. Steven Wang, Dr. Erynne Faucett & Dr. Audrey Erman

Dr. Christopher Le, Dr. Saurabh Sharma & Dr. Eugene Chang

Dr. Alexander Chiu & Dr. Steven Wang

Publish Date New: 
Thursday, June 29, 2017 - 16:15